You can delete Hotmail account by visiting Microsoft.com or Live.com. You must sign in to your account by providing a predefined email address or phone number and password. Then select your username (first and last name), select the Account option, indicate why the account will be deleted, and then select the Highlight Account option to close.
Redirecting to the next page is a reminder that when you delete your Hotmail account, you may lose access to other services available in Windows Live (including Xbox or Messenger). Just enter your password in the field below your email address to completely delete your account.
Remember that a deleted account is available for 60 days. During this time, you can go back to the deleted account and log back into the account that will cancel the deletion of your account. Before closing your account, Microsoft recommends backing up all emails, pictures, and files stored in Outlook.com, Hotmail, and OneDrive.
Hotmail accounts can be blocked due to inactivity. Failure to log in within 365 days will result in the deletion of all received emails, while after 5 years of inactivity on your account (not logged in), your account will be deleted.